President Elect Obama Talks With Jesus

obamajesusoncar

 

Dear God, Thank you for the opportunity to lead this great nation.

You’re welcome.

Whoa – you answered.  That’s new.

Yes, I thought you could use some more direct communication from me over the next few years.

Wow – I’m talking with God.

You were before also. 

Uh,….good point.

Now – how can I help you?

What advice do you have regarding my new assignment?

Protect life.

Oh…abortion; I thought you might have an opinion on that.

I said life; you brought up abortion.   Forget about abortion for the moment.

Okay, you’re the boss.  I mean, um, er, … you’re God.

Back to the life question – shouldn’t the president protect life?

That would seem to be a part of the job…

You don’t sound convinced.

I’m responding carefully.

Very wise. Consider the constitution…“We the people…”  – that’s about life

Makes sense.

“A more perfect Union…”  – that’s about life

Really?

Well, a union of what? States – people live in states – people are living.  It’s about life.

Good point.

Thanks.

“Justice…” – that’s about life.

“Domestic Tranquility…”  – life.

“Common defense…”  – protecting life.

Yes, yes, and yes.

“General welfare…” – life.

Okay.

“Blessings of Liberty…” – for who? Living people – life again.

I’ve never thought of the Constitution that way.

You’re whole job is about life; so is the job of the Legislature and Courts.

Well, when you put it that way, I agree.

Good.  By the way, abortion ends a life.

I thought we might get back to that.

You were right.

What about a woman’s right to choose. 

Complete fiction.

How so?

Read my book, the Bible, and report back to me where you find this concept?

Let me put it on my list.  I’m pretty busy right now.

What about an unwanted pregnancy?

Unwanted by who? Who said I didn’t want it?

What about rape?

What a terrible crime.  There’s a special place in hell reserved for rapists.

So we have an exception.

No.  Simple answer – two wrongs don’t make a right. No matter how difficult this situation is.

What about babies with deformities?

I have a reason for everything and you said the key word, “babies.”

Shouldn’t the parents have some choice in this?

In what?

Whether the baby should come into this earth or not?  I mean a deformed baby.  What kind of a life will it have?

She will have a life, no matter how short.

But isn’t quality important?

Quality according to who? Everyone on this planet has some differing level of “quality of life.” Consider for example the wealthy Swiss banker compared to a black child in the slums of Nairobi.  Should that child be deprived of life because of an arbitrary standard of quality?  Should I allow that child be snuffed because of his economic conditions?

Abortion and infanticide – that’s a little different.

Not according to me.

I understand all the issues, difficulties, crimes related to difficult pregnancies, etc.  There are some truly difficult situations that are hard to understand and deal with.  However, my solution is not to end a life; but to be there, through my children, in these situations.  If a person will come to Me, I am able to provide help, direction and purpose even in difficult circumstances.  I love the mother, father, and baby more than anyone can imagine.

What about if the mother’s life is in danger?

Sin has made every pregnancy dangerous.

What about…

What if, what about, coulda, woulda, shoulda…

What about what I want?  You know – Me! God! :

·         The Maker of heaven and earth.

·         The Giver of life in the first place.

·         The One who breathed life into Adam.

·         The One who came to earth as a baby.

·         The One who died on the cross for all mankind.

·         The One who rose from the dead.

·         The Giver of eternal life.

Life was my idea.  Does anyone care what I want?

Sir, God – I really do care what you think.

Then read my book about this topic.  Read it in its context.  Read it for yourself. Don’t make it say something it doesn’t – like many others do.  And when you’ve come to what I want, adopt the right position and stand firm.  By the way, it’s not the position you currently have.

Many of my voters don’t like your position.

I love them anyway – but they are wrong.

I ran on a platform supporting the right to choose.

A change to the right position is never wrong.

Sigh.  This would be difficult.

Keep coming back, I’ll give you courage.

There are so many issues at the moment: the economy, Iraq, the war on terror, education, the inauguration, transition plans, staff selection, immigration, and on and on.

The protection of the most innocent person imaginable takes priority to all other issues.

I inspired another leader to say it best, “For you formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works and that my soul knows very well. ” (Psalm 139:13-14)

This would be tough.

More than you can ever imagine.  But it would be right.

My constituents won’t like it.

But I would and that’s what matters.

 

(Fyi – I believe God’s sovereignty has led to President-Elect Obama being our next president.  Although I disagree with him on this issue, I am praying for him.  He has a very difficult road ahead and I’m supporting my president as he prepares for office to tackle the enormous responsibilities before him.  I think it is historic in a very positive way that we have elected a black president.  It reflects the true opportunity in this great country in which we live. The picture at the top of this article was snapped as I was driving around Kansas City one day.  It was intriguing and prompted me to write this article.)

 

 

2 Responses

  1. A very good “conversation”. Although I do not agree with President O’bama on the majority (pretty much all!), I do pray for him. He is our president and he needs our prayers and support. Have a great day. See you in church Sunday!

  2. Shawn, You make some good points here. It is unfortunate that so many Americans REFUSE to accept the fact that abortion stops a beating heart and ends a precious life.
    Jan

Leave a Reply

