Body Parts

“And whether one member suffer, all the members suffer with it; or one member be honored, all the members rejoice with it.” 1 Corinthians 12:26

I found myself hanging in the air as one leg of my chair suddenly slipped over the top step of our deck stairs.  It was only momentarily though; I quickly landed on my hip and bounced down three steps.  I lay there kind of stunned wondering if I had broken my hip.  I had been painting my house and had grown a little careless leading to this fall. Paint was splattered all over our deck.

That was 3 weeks ago. 

My kids have been calling me “hippie” since because of the giant bruise on my hip and the fact that I guard it jealously from being bumped.  Of course they have no idea of what real hippies are and why I find that funny.

During this time I have been limping around.  I’ve been unable to lie on my left side.  And I also have to sit cockeyed much of the time, resting most of my weight on my right hip.

Interestingly enough, this injury has affected other parts of my body.  My lower back is tight.  My right shoulder is sore because I can’t lie on my left side while sleeping.  My right arm is tingly because of the added stress to my right shoulder.  One of my knees is also popping funny because of walking awkwardly. It’s really weird how parts of my body which weren’t injured are responding because of the part that is. They have compensated for my injured part.  Since my hip is not functioning correctly, they are taking up the slack.  A body is not composed of independent parts functioning on their own, but related parts that depend on each other.

The body of Christ is no different.  If one part is wounded the rest feel it and should pitch in to help.  If a Christ follower is hurting, in trouble, or being persecuted, his or her brothers and sisters should be seeing how they can help.  Just like a physical body, believers in Christ are connected to each other because of Christ’s and the Holy Spirit’s work.

We hurt with each other, we weep with each other, we rejoice with each other, and we care for each other. All parts of the body need the other parts.

What role in the body are you playing right now?

2 Responses

  1. This is great Shawn. Needs to be published in the bulletin.

  2. But its not great that you fell. That is totally something I would do!

Leave a Reply

