Finding God in the Flea on My Neighbor’s Dog

flea1.jpg

Yes, I see God in the flea on my neighbor’s dog (I can’t believe I actually think about these things).  I see Him in other things also, but why not start with something close to home.  Think about some of the amazing things this flea on Abby (the dog’s name) can do:

  • Jump 30,000 times without stopping.
  • Jump 150 times its size (about 12 inches)…equivalent to a human jumping 100 stories!
  • Pull 160,000 times its weight.
  • Drink 15 times its body weight in blood (yeah, kind of gross, but in a cool kind of way).
  • Accelerate 15 times faster then the space shuttle. ( courtesy of  http://www.nationalfleaweek.com )

If a human could do those things, then move over Superman!  Seriously though, those are some amazing statistics and we’re only talking a flea here.  Look at the more complicated biology in nature.  Consider the physical laws that keep our universe from flying apart.  Look at the intricacy in ecosystems.  In all these items I see the hand of God.

I like the thoughts of George Washington Carver, my favorite ISU grad, about seeing God in nature:

carver1web.jpg

“I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in.”(brainyquote.com) 

“When I was young, I said to God, God, tell me the mystery of the universe. But God answered, that knowledge is for me alone. So I said, God, tell me the mystery of the peanut. Then God said, well, George, that’s more nearly your size.” (afroamhistory.about.com/od/georgewcarver/a/gwcarverquotes.htm) 

Carver saw something special in nature that revealed God.  We’ve all wanted to know the “mystery of the universe.”  But, like Carver, we don’t have to understand that much to see the fingerprint of God around us. 

Whether it’s the peanut or a python, or a flea or a flamingo, nature reveals to us that God is real.  It’s so evident!  If you’ve never considered this, there is a warning in the Bible.  Those who think they’ll tell God someday, “I just didn’t know if you existed,” are fooling themselves. His answer will be there was no excuse:

Romans 1:20 “For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse,…”

If you know Christ, then nature causes us to praise Him.  If you are still looking, check out that flea on Fido.  It’s pretty amazing.

One Response

  1. Lovely post!!

Leave a Reply

