Black Friday Prayer

(A brief thought for Grace Fellowship Church and other believers concerned with evangelism)

Last Friday I had an incredibly sobering moment while chasing my wife and daughters through Kohls.  They had all scattered to look for some deals, or stand in line waiting to pay.  I decided to do something instead of just standing in the shoe department waiting for them to check out;  I told them I was going  to check out Christmas tree sales at another big box store.

I wove my way through Kohls in the general direction of the exit.  While dodging displays and people, I began to focus on people’s faces – face, after face, after face.  The store was packed, the parking lot was packed, and the roads were packed. I began to ponder the fact that these were people loved by God.  Each one of them was unique.  Each one had a soul. And Christ had made an enormous sacrifice to bring them to himself.

Of course, I already knew this.  The statistical “fact” of there being so many people who needed Christ wasn’t new.  The theological truth that people need Christ is something I (we) talk about often.

But just seeing the mass of people on the biggest shopping day of the year drove home these truths anew.

God has given us a tremendous responsibility and privilege to be “ministers of reconciliation.”  Not just me but we, the Grace Fellowship body.

On my way out the door, as I passed lines and masses of people, I just began to pray, “Lord…”  I caught myself not really knowing how to finish.  I mean there were SO many people, “Lord, bring the knowledge of your Son to these people and help our GF body to aggressively do our part as you lead.”

As you shop, attend holiday parties, and reconnect with family and friends in the next month would you pray?  Pray for people’s souls.  Pray for opportunities to share.  Pray for believers and churches to represent Christ to a lost and dead world.  We have the real “Hope” for this season and ask God to help us share it.

Now then, we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were pleading through us: we implore you on Christ’s behalf, be reconciled to God”. (2Co 5:20 NKJ)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

